Legal & terms and conditions

General terms and conditions of sale and delivery of Zimmerli Messtechnik AG (hereinafter referred to as “ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK”). As of June 2021.

1. General conditions

These General Terms and Conditions of Sale and Delivery are part of every contract and every order confirmation of ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK. They apply to all deliveries and work of ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK. Additional agreements, changes and subsidiary agreements are only effective if they are confirmed in writing by ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK. Further or deviating conditions, and in particular general terms and conditions of the customer, are excluded. The invalidity of a provision of these General Terms and Conditions of Sale and Delivery shall not affect the validity of the General Terms and Conditions of Sale and Delivery in other respects. The parties undertake to replace the invalid provision with a valid provision whose economic effect corresponds as far as possible to that of the original provision.

2. Offer / Conclusion of contract

All offers of ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK, in particular also those in catalogues, price lists, etc., do not contain any binding effect. A contract is only concluded by written confirmation (order confirmation) from ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK. transmission by e-mail shall also be deemed to be in writing.

3. Plans and technical documentation

Details in technical documentation are only binding insofar as they have been expressly assured to the contracting party by ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK. All plans and technical documents (drawings, descriptions, specifications, illustrations, etc.) remain the property of ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK. They may not be copied or reproduced, nor made accessible to third parties, used for self-production or outside the use for which they were handed over.

4. Regulations in the country of destination and protective regulations

The customer shall inform ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK at the latest with the order about the regulations and provisions relating to the execution of deliveries and services, the operation as well as the prevention of illness and accidents. The customer shall be responsible for compliance with the regulations at the customer’s place of business.

5. Delivery

The scope, deadlines and execution of the delivery are based on the order confirmation or a separate written agreement. ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK shall endeavour to meet the specified deadlines. The deadline is suspended if ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK does not receive information from the customer which it requires for the execution of the delivery on time, or if the agreed payments are not received by ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK. the customer shall be notified of delays in delivery times due to in-house or external disruptions. In the event of delayed delivery, the customer shall not be entitled to withdraw from the contract or to claim damages.
If the delivery is delayed for reasons for which the customer is responsible, ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK shall be entitled to store the goods on its premises or those of as third party at the customer’s expense and risk, to extend the delivery deadline and to dispose otherwise of the delivery item after expiry of a period notified to the customer.
Depending on the scope of the order, ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK reserves the right to make partial deliveries. ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK reserves the right to make changes to the design and form during the delivery period, provided that the object of the contract is not significantly changed in its function and form and the change is reasonable to the customer.

6. Prices

All prices are net prices plus value-added tax at the applicable rate in freely available Swiss francs. they are ex works, plus packaging and shipping costs, transport costs, duties and fees as well as cost for customs clearance, insurance, permits, certifications, assembly, installation, commissioning, acceptance and other ancillary costs of delivery.
Compliance with agreed costs shall be subject to the condition that the items on which the agreement is based remain unchanged and can be performed without impediments for which the customer is responsible. Subsequent changes and extensions requested or required by the customer which result in additional expenditure shall be additionally remunerated by the customer.
If, after conclusion of the contract, the goods to be delivered become more expensive as a result of price increases of raw materials, intermediate products, due to exchange rates, changed tariffs, price increases of sub-suppliers, etc., these price increases shall be borne by the customer.

7. Terms of payment

Payment of each invoice must be made without deduction within 30 days of the invoice date. ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK has the right to demand down payment or advance payment at its own discretion. In the case of partial deliveries, payments shall also be made in accordance with the scope of the delivery made. The payment dates must also be observed if the customer asserts warranty claims or if the delivery is delayed for reasons for which ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK is not responsible. The customer is not entitled to offset his debt against any counterclaims.
If the customer is in arrears with payments or if there are doubts about his solvency or his willingness to pay, ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK may, without prejudice to the rights arising from ownership, revoke payments dates granted or, after setting a reasonable period of grace, withdraw from the contract and claim damages for non-performance.
If the customer does not comply with the agreed payment dates, he shall pay interest rates on arrears of 5% from the agreed due date without a reminder. ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK reserves the right to claim further damages.

8. Transfer of use and risk

Use and risk shall pass to the customer at the latest on dispatch of the delivery ex works. If dispatch is delayed at the request of the customer or for other reasons for which ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK is not responsible, the risk shall pass to the customer at the time originally planned for delivery ex-works. From this point in time, the deliveries shall be stored and insured at the expense and risk of the customer.

9. Transport and insurance

ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK must be informed in good time of any special requests regarding dispatch, transport and insurance. Transport is at the expense and the risk of the customer. Complaints in connection with the transport or shipment are to be addressed by the customer to the last carrier immediately on receipt of the delivery or the shipping documents. Where necessary to secure evidence, a record signed by the parties involved shall be made. Insurance against damage of any kind shall be the responsibility of the customer.

10. Retention of title

The delivered or stored product remains the property of ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK until full payment of the agreed price with all additional costs and interest. The products may not be pledged or sold by the customer until this time, nor may they be rented out without the consent of ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK. In the case of default of payment, the retention of title may be entered in the retention of title register at the place of residence of the customer. The customer is obliged to inform ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK immediately if he changes his domicile or if third parties make claims to the objects subject to retention of title.

11. Auditing obligation

The customer shall inspect the deliveries and services within a reasonable deadline - in principle at the time of handover - and notify ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK of any defects in writing without delay. If he fails to do so, the deliveries and services shall be deemed to have been approved.

12. Return of goods

Goods can only be returned after consultation and written confirmation by ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK. The costs for the return shipment are to be borne by the customer.

13. Warranty / Guarantee

The statutory warranty regulations are excluded. The following conditions apply exclusively.
Unless otherwise agreed in writing, a warranty period of 12 months shall apply. A warranty period of 12 months shall also be granted on spare parts, without the warranty period being extended in respect of the entire object. For objects which ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK obtains from sub-suppliers, the warranty service is limited to the scope of the warranty services of the manufacturing companies.
If defects occur during the warranty period and are reported in time, they will be repaired – at the discretion of ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK – or the defective part will be replaced. If ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK replaces defective parts, the latter become its property. The original warranty period shall not be extended by the rectification of defects or replacement delivery. Further claims of the customer, in particular claims for damages, cancellation, reduction or retention of the invoice amount are excluded. In particular, ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK is not liable for indirect or consequential damages, such as lost profits, claims to third parties, unrealised savings, additional expenses of the customer or damages to the devices. The warranty is excluded for damages that occur after the transfer of risk as a result of operational disturbances of the customer, improper handling or operation, improper or unauthorised interventions, excessive stress, unsuitable operating materials or other reasons for which ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK is not responsible. If the customer or a third party has made changes or repairs to the delivery items, any claim to warranty shall expire.
For repair under guarantee, the items must be sent to ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK carriage paid to Riehen. If the customer request a repair on site, the travel expenses and any overtime worked by ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK shall be reimbursed. A corresponding advance payment must be made for the expenses.

14. Place of performance, applicable law and place of jurisdiction

The place of jurisdiction is at the domicile of ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK in Basel-Stadt. Swiss law shall apply. Application of the provisions of the Vienna UN Convention of 11 April 1980 is excluded.

Rechtliches & AGB

Allgemeine Verkaufs- und Lieferbedingungen der Zimmerli Messtechnik AG (nachfolgend „ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK“ genannt). Stand Juni 2021.

1. Allgemeine Bedingungen

Diese Allgemeinen Verkaufs- und Lieferbedingungen sind Bestandteil jedes Vertrages und jeder Auftragsbestätigung der ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK. Sie gelten für alle Lieferungen und Arbeiten der ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK. Zusätzliche Vereinbarungen, Änderungen und Nebenabreden sind nur wirksam, wenn sie von der ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK schriftlich bestätigt werden. Weitere oder abweichende Bedingungen, insbesondere auch allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen des Bestellers, werden wegbedungen. Die Unwirksamkeit einer Bestimmung dieser Allgemeinen Verkaufs- und Lieferbedingungen lässt die Gültigkeit der Allgemeinen Verkaufs- und Lieferbedingungen im Übrigen unberührt. Die Parteien verpflichten sich, die unwirksame Bestimmung durch eine gültige zu ersetzen, deren wirtschaftlicher Erfolg demjenigen der unwirksamen Bestimmung soweit wie möglich entspricht.

2. Angebot / Vertragsabschluss

Alle Angebote der ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK, insbesondere auch solche in Katalogen, Preislisten etc., enthalten keine Bindungswirkung. Ein Vertrag kommt erst durch schriftliche Bestätigung (Auftragsbestätigung) durch die ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK zustande. Als schriftlich gilt auch die Übermittlung per E-Mail.

3. Pläne und technische Unterlagen

Angaben in technischen Unterlagen sind nur verbindlich, soweit sie von der ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK der Vertragspartei ausdrücklich zugesichert wurden. Sämtliche Pläne und technischen Unterlagen (Zeichnungen, Beschreibungen, Pflichtenhefte, Spezifikationen, Abbildungen etc.) bleiben Eigentum der ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK. Sie dürfen weder kopiert oder vervielfältigt, noch Drittpersonen zugänglich gemacht, zur Selbstanfertigung oder ausserhalb des Zwecks verwendet werden, zu dem sie übergeben worden sind.

4. Vorschriften im Bestimmungsland und Schutzvorschriften

Der Besteller hat die ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK spätestens mit der Bestellung über die Vorschriften und Bestimmungen zu informieren, die sich auf die Ausführung von Lieferungen und Leistungen, den Betrieb sowie auf die Krankheits- und Unfallverhütung beziehen. Für die Einhaltung der Vorschriften am Sitz des Bestellers ist der Besteller verantwortlich.

5. Lieferung

Umfang, Fristen und Ausführung der Lieferung richten sich nach der Auftragsbestätigung oder einer separaten schriftlichen Vereinbarung. Die ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK bemüht sich, die festgelegten Fristen einzuhalten. Die Frist ist suspendiert, wenn der ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK Angaben des Bestellers, welche sie für die Ausführung der Lieferung benötigt nicht rechtzeitig zugehen oder vereinbarte Zahlungen nicht termingerecht bei der ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK eingehen. Verzögerungen der Lieferfristen durch betriebsinterne oder externe Störungen werden dem Besteller gemeldet. Bei verspäteter Lieferung steht dem Besteller kein Recht auf Rücktritt vom Vertrag oder Schadenersatz zu.
Wird die Lieferung aus Gründen, welche der Besteller zu vertreten hat, verzögert, so ist die ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK berechtigt, sie auf Kosten und Gefahr des Bestellers bei sich oder einem Dritten zu lagern, die Lieferungsfrist zu verlängern und nach Ablauf einer dem Besteller mitgeteilten Frist anderweitig über den Liefergegenstand zu verfügen.
Je nach Umfang des Auftrages behält sich die ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK das Recht zu Teillieferungen vor. Konstruktions- und Formänderungen bleiben während der Lieferzeit vorbehalten, soweit der Vertragsgegenstand in seiner Funktion und Form nicht erheblich geändert wird, und die Änderung für den Besteller zumutbar ist.

6. Preise

Alle Preise sind Nettopreise zuzüglich Mehrwertsteuer zum jeweils anwendbaren Satz in frei verfügbaren Schweizer Franken. Sie verstehen sich ab Werk, dazu kommen Verpackungs- und Versandkosten, Transportkosten, Steuern, Abgaben und Gebühren sowie Kosten für Verzollung, Versicherungen, Bewilligungen, Beurkundungen, Montage, Installation, Inbetriebnahme, Abnahme und weitere Nebenkosten der Lieferung.
Die Einhaltung vereinbarter Preise setzt voraus, dass die der Vereinbarung zugrunde gelegten Positionen unverändert bleiben und ohne vom Besteller zu vertretenden Behinderungen erbracht werden können. Nachträgliche, vom Besteller gewünschte oder notwendige Änderungen und Erweiterungen, die zu einem Mehraufwand führen, hat der Besteller zusätzlich zu vergüten.
Verteuern sich nach Abschluss des Vertrages die zu liefernden Waren infolge Preiserhöhungen von Rohstoffen, Vorprodukten, aufgrund von Wechselkursänderungen, veränderter Tarife, Preiserhöhungen von Unterlieferanten etc., so sind diese Preiserhöhungen vom Besteller zu tragen.

7. Zahlungsbedingungen

Die Zahlung jeder Rechnung hat ohne Abzug innert 30 Tagen ab Fakturadatum zu erfolgen. Die ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK hat das Recht, nach eigenem Ermessen Anzahlung oder Vorauszahlung zu verlangen. Bei Teillieferungen sind auch die Zahlungen entsprechend dem Umfang der gemachten Lieferung zu leisten. Die Zahlungstermine sind auch einzuhalten, wenn der Besteller Gewährleistungsansprüche geltend macht oder wenn sich die Lieferung der Leistungen aus Gründen, welche die ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK nicht zu vertreten hat, verzögert. Der Besteller ist nicht berechtigt, seine Schuld mit allfälligen Gegenforderungen zu verrechnen.
Kommt der Besteller mit Zahlungen in Rückstand oder bestehen Zweifel an seiner Zahlungsfähigkeit oder an seinem Zahlungswillen, so kann die ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK unbeschadet der Rechte aus Eigentum eingeräumte Zahlungstermine widerrufen oder nach Setzen einer angemessenen Nachfrist vom Vertrag zurücktreten und Schadenersatz wegen Nichterfüllung verlangen.
Hält der Besteller die vereinbarten Zahlungstermine nicht ein, so hat er ohne Mahnung vom Zeitpunkt der vereinbarten Fälligkeit an einen Verzugszins von 5% zu entrichten. Der Ersatz weiteren Schadens bleibt vorbehalten.

8. Übergang von Nutzen und Gefahr

Nutzen und Gefahr gehen spätestens mit Abgang der Lieferung ab Werk auf den Besteller über. Wird der Versand auf Begehren des Bestellers oder aus sonstigen Gründen, welche die ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK nicht zu vertreten hat, verzögert, geht die Gefahr im ursprünglich für die Ablieferung ab Werk vorgesehenen Zeitpunkt auf den Besteller über. Von diesem Zeitpunkt an, werden die Lieferungen auf Rechnung und Gefahr des Bestellers gelagert und versichert.

9. Transport und Versicherung

Besondere Wünsche betreffend Versand, Transport und Versicherung sind der ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK rechtzeitig bekannt zu geben. Der Transport erfolgt auf Rechnung und Gefahr des Bestellers. Beanstandungen im Zusammenhang mit dem Transport oder Versand sind vom Besteller bei Erhalt der Lieferung oder der Frachtdokumente unverzüglich an den letzten Frachtführer zu richten. Wo dies zur Sicherung von Beweisen notwendig ist, ist ein von den Beteiligten unterzeichnetes Protokoll aufnehmen zu lassen. Die Versicherung gegen Schäden irgendwelcher Art obliegt dem Besteller.

10. Eigentumsvorbehalt

Das gelieferte oder eingelagerte Produkt bleibt bis zur vollständigen Bezahlung des vereinbarten Preises mit allen zusätzlichen Kosten und Zinsen Eigentum der ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK. Die Produkte dürfen vom Besteller bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt weder verpfändet oder verkauft, noch ohne Bewilligung der ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK vermietet werden. Bei Zahlungsverzug kann der Eigentumsvorbehalt im Eigentumsvorbehaltsregister am Wohnsitz des Bestellers eingetragen werden. Der Besteller ist verpflichtet, die ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK unverzüglich zu informieren, wenn er sein Domizil wechselt oder wenn Drittpersonen auf die unter Eigentumsvorbehalt stehenden Gegenstände Ansprüche erheben.

11. Prüfungspflicht

Der Besteller hat die Lieferungen und Leistungen innert angemessener Frist – grundsätzlich bei der Übergabe – zu prüfen und der ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK allfällige Mängel unverzüglich schriftlich anzuzeigen. Unterlässt er dies, gelten die Lieferungen und Leistungen als genehmigt.

12. Warenrücksendungen

Warenrücksendungen können nur nach erfolgter Absprache und schriftlicher Rückbestätigung durch die ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK AG erfolgen. Die Kosten für die Rücksendung sind vom Besteller zu tragen.

13. Gewährleistung / Garantie

Die gesetzlichen Gewährleistungsregeln werden ausgeschlossen. Es gelten ausschliesslich nachstehende Bedingungen.
Ohne anderweitige schriftliche Vereinbarung gilt eine Garantiefrist von 12 Monaten. Auf Ersatzteilen wird ebenfalls eine Garantiefrist von 12 Monaten gewährt, ohne dass die Garantiefrist in Bezug auf das ganze Objekt verlängert wird. Für Gegenstände, welche die ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK von Unterlieferanten bezieht, beschränkt sich die Garantieleistung auf den Umfang der Garantieleistungen der Herstellerfirmen.
Treten während der Gewährleistungsfrist Mängel auf und werden diese rechtzeitig gerügt, so werden diese – nach Wahl der ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK – behoben oder das mangelhafte Teil wird ersetzt. Ersetzt ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK beanstandete Teile, so fallen letztere in ihr Eigentum. Durch die Mängelbehebung bzw. Ersatzlieferung verlängert sich die ursprüngliche Garantiefrist nicht. Weitere Ansprüche des Bestellers, insbesondere Anspruch auf Schadenersatz, Wandelung, Minderung oder Zurückbehaltung des Rechnungsbetrages sind ausgeschlossen. Insbesondere haftet die ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK nicht für indirekte oder Folgeschäden, wie z.B. entgangene Gewinne, Ansprüche Dritter, nicht realisierte Einsparungen, Mehraufwendungen des Bestellers oder Schäden an den Geräten. Für Schäden, die nach dem Gefahrenübergang infolge Betriebsstörungen des Bestellers, unsachgemässer Behandlung oder Bedienung, unsachgemässer oder unzulässiger Eingriffe, übermässiger Beanspruchung, ungeeigneter Betriebsmittel oder anderer Gründe, welche die ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK nicht zu verantworten hat, entstehen, wird die Gewährleistung ausgeschlossen. Hat der Besteller oder ein Dritter Änderungen oder Reparaturen an den Liefergegenständen vorgenommen, erlischt jeglicher Anspruch auf Gewährleistung.
Zwecks Reparatur unter Garantie müssen die Gegenstände der ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK franko Riehen gesendet werden. Verlangt der Besteller eine Reparatur an Ort und Stelle, so sind die Reisespesen und allfällige Überstunden der ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK zu vergüten. Für die Aufwendungen ist eine entsprechende Vorauszahlung zu leisten.

14. Erfüllungsort, anwendbares Recht und Gerichtsstand

Gerichtsstand und Erfüllungsort ist am Domizil der ZIMMERLI MESSTECHNIK in Basel-Stadt. Es gilt schweizerisches Recht. Die Anwendung der Bestimmungen des Wiener UN-Abkommens vom 11. April 1980 ist ausgeschlossen.